Pack 194's
Home Page
Upcoming Events
About Cub Scouts
Helpful Links

Cub Scout Pack 194
(Flemington, New Jersey)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

Purpose of Cub Scouting

Since 1930, the Boy Scouts of America has helped younger boys through Cub Scouting. Cub Scouts is a year-round family program designed for boys who are in the first grade through fifth grade (or 7 to 10 years of age). Parents, adult leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the purposes of Cub Scouting.

The 10 purposes of Cub Scouting are:

  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship and Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun and Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

Cub Scout Membership

Cub Scout members join a Cub Scout pack.  Each pack is made up of a number of dens.  Each den is usually a group of six to eight boys.  Dens typically meet several times per month.

Once a month, all of the dens and family members gather for a pack meeting under the direction of a Cubmaster and pack committee. The committee includes parents of boys in the pack and members of the chartered organization.

Boys join Cub Scouts at one of four levels, depending on their grade and age level.  The four levels are Tiger (first grade or age 7), Wolf (second grade or age 8), Bear (third grade or age 9) and Webelos (fourth and fifth grade, or age 10).  A boy can join Cub Scouts at any time, and will be placed at the level appropriate for his age.

Join Scouts! (click here)


Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scout advancement plan provides fun, a sense of personal achievement, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.  Achievements are designed to be age-appropriate and provide just enough of a challenge to give boys a sense of accomplishment and pride.

Tiger Cub. The Tiger Cub program is for first-grade (or age 7) boys and their adult partners. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes 15 requirements within 5 achievement areas to earn the Tiger Cub badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade.

Wolf. The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 8). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills.

Bear. The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 9). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.

Webelos. This program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). This is the first step in a boy's transition from a Cub Scout pack to a Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.